Elia Schito

RadRails 0.7.2 and Subclipse 1.0.4 (or 1.0.5), what a pain!

In RadRails, Rails, Ruby on Rails, Subclipse, Subversion, SVN on December 30, 2006 at 3:31 am

Have you just discovered that your svn server runs latest Subversion version and your RadRails standalone copy refuses the update?

Typically it shouts:

RadRails (0.7.2) requires plug-in “org.eclipse.core.runtime (2.1.0)”, or later version.

Solution:

  1. Download latest subclipse: http://subclipse.tigris.org/files/documents/906/35678/site-1.0.4.zip or http://subclipse.tigris.org/files/documents/906/36310/site-1.0.5.zip (as suggested by Jared)
  2. extract it somewhere, you’ll notice two folders: plugins and features
  3. extract the JAR files you’ll find inside them into folders with the same name and in the same location as the JAR file (for example with WinRAR)
  4. move the two folders to the RadRails standalone folder (which contains folders named plugins and features too)
  5. delete the old 1.0.3 or 1.0.2 files
  6. start RadRails, SVN is back!!!
  1. Thanks alot for this procedure. Since I’m a Ruby on Rails newbie this really helped out, otherwise I would have been left scratching my head for too long.
    Thanks again.
    Greg

  2. It was my initial solution too, but goin’ on and off the console is too much for a lazy programmer (like me)

    :D

  3. Thanks – I was getting really sick of the error and your blog motivated me to the do the right thing and get it fixed!

  4. I wish I had found this post sooner. Many thanks. It took me a while to connect upgrading my subversion server and these errors in radrails. I kept getting:
    svn: Commit failed (details follow):
    svn: Malformed network data
    when trying to commit using an svn:// repository and then
    svn: Unable to open an ra_local session to URL
    svn: Unable to open repository
    when trying to commit using a file:// repository. The steps here fixed all that.

  5. If you have WinZip, you can expand the jars by: 1) changing the .jar extension to .zip, 2) Select all jars, 3) Right-click and Expand here as file names.

  6. You are a lifesaver, thanks!

  7. [...] while trying to import the project “malformed network error”. Follow the instructions here URL to fix the [...]

  8. awesome. thanks.

  9. Thanks for this. Saved me loads of time

  10. Thanks, that automatic update that wouldn’t update was annoying the heck out of me.

  11. Hi, thanks for this helpfull instructions. I got it back to live – but in the Rail-Navigator view i can’t see any svn status of my changed/unchanged files. Is this a known problem?

  12. not working for me. I tried it about 3 times, don’t know why it’s not working. I have put extracted folders into those in RadRails folder, restart and the same error appears.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

